Faced some fiery eyes and got a laugh

Tuesday marks the first of 100 days in which I will do something that scares me every day. I have a working list, and to be honest, who knows what will happen within those 100 days and who knows if the list will even come into play. I have a lot of people I owe thanks to for sharing some of their fears and helping me compile this list. So thank you and I hope you continue to share over the next while as I openly detail what could be an atrocity, lewd, or completely profound.

I haven’t even started and I’m amped for Tuesday to arrive because even leading up to September 1st I’ve been a much more open person (searching for things that scare me) and much more self aware, in always evaluating situations and considering whether or not I’ve been granted an opportunity to face a fear that I would’ve regularly passed by. Seems these things that scare us have common themes; failure, embarrassment, new endeavours, or dangerous acts. This is by no means the ultimate and final list, simply some categories I have been able to use to group my fears.

Stick around because I’m sure with time transparency will come in sharing my 100 acts that scare me – this in itself is terrifying to me, so be patient and kind! Your stories and personal tid-bits are always welcome so share some fears or just use this as grounds for encouragement to do something that scares you. This does not need to be profound by any means!!

To use me and my sister as an example; on our way home from the cottage we thought some bulls would make for a nice photo. Requirements of this “picturesque shot”: jump a barbwire fence, tredge through a sludge infested field and face those crazy ass 900 pound four legged creatures. They didn’t like this and believe me when I say cartoons are spot on when they draw bulls with red eyes. Those beasts they call bulls all stood up with fiery eyes and my nervous laughter ensued. I don’t know enough about these things to know if bulls run fast or not! Putting yourself in a dangerous situation for the sake of a photo… turned out being funny, no profound lesson learned, but being scared is fun and I think the photo turned out quite nicely.

bulls

*Lesson learned: sludge infused photo shoots require better foot attire.

See The awesome-ness of fear for what this challenge is all about.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

