Darling Home for Kids

Day 16 (Wednesday September 16th) Scared to ask complete Strangers for $$!

I haven’t become a hobo, don’t worry. In volunteering for a charity that is planning their annual gala I have been wrangled up to find donations for our silent auction. First off, in case you haven’t heard, we’re just coming out of a recession. No one wants to give their stuff away for free. Sad state of affairs, I know, which makes it a bit scary to ask people for their charitable donations!

Anyways, after about 2 hours of collecting enough courage I set out to ask complete strangers for their money. I got rejected the first place I went. I’m going to chalk that up to nerves and say the first doesn’t/shouldn’t even count. Still hurts though. Went to the car and wanted to cry, but realized I really would be a complete ninny if I cried over some witch that doesn’t have a heart and doesn’t want to give a small donation to a children’s hospice. I also realized I do need at least one donation to bring back to the committee. Let me tell you, after I got my footing and my first yes, the yeses became a bit overwhelming.

The worthwhile charity I speak of is, The Darling Home for Kids.

The Event: The 2009 Comfort and Joy Event: New York

You’re invited to a Night in New York on Thursday November 5th 2009 as we celebrate the 11th Annual Comfort & Joy Event at the Liberty Grand in Exhibition Place! The Darling Home for Kids annual Comfort & Joy event is one of Toronto’s premier outings. This year’s event promises to be an exciting evening that echoes the lively experience of a cocktail and dinner lounge in the spirit of New York City! Join us for an exciting night featuring live music, cocktails, a silent auction, and a spectacular dinner!

Tickets, corporate tables and sponsorship opportunities are available through Jennifer Young, Development Coordinator at 905-878-7673 ext 4.

Please contact Jennifer Young with any questions. Click – HERE – for more information.

Your support in any way is more than welcome!! If you would like to make a donation of any sort or know someone that might, please let me know!

Now go face a fear; do something that scares you!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Darling Home for Kids

  1. […] Asked complete strangers for money. I’m scared a) to ask strangers for money and, b) of rejection. […]

Leave a Reply

