Hot Yoga

yoga

It pours down your body, drips over your brow, and detoxifies the body. It’s hot yoga in all its sweaty glory! Hot yoga is a cardiovascular workout that strengthens, tones, and loosens your muscles, while it also calms the mind and reduces stress.

Hot yoga and I have been chumming for just over a year now and it’s a practice unlike any other. It’s a complete cleanse. You literally sweat out toxins of the skin, blood and muscles. Since moving I’ve yet to find a studio and to find a new place is a bit daunting. However, I’ve desperately missed sweating it all out on a regular basis so I finally tried a new studio, Moksha Yoga Milton.

The construction is just barely complete but the building is gorgeous. The studio has an entire wall of floor to ceiling mirrors, stunning dark bamboo floors, and windows that stretch the length of the room overlooking a beautiful, wide open field (please ignore the power lines). Seemed perfectly serene and the perfect place to rekindle my love of hot yoga…

The mood was set, the instructor’s voice was beautiful (the timbre of one’s voice in this setting is of utmost importance), the heat was up, and I fell back into the sweaty love I once held for hot yoga until lady to my left had to be that annoying  know it all we all know and all hate. I know yoga is supposed to be all Zen but I’m about to let loose on this lady!

I’m sure you know the type – rolls her eyes at every pose indicating her prowess of what’s to come, huffs the name of each pose that goes unnamed and wildly signals to let her friend know when she’s out of alignment. I GET IT! You’ve done this before! Now please spare the rest of us! Both your annoyingly self-important ways and your endless index of yoga knowledge are duly noted but most definitely unwanted in the confines that I’m meant to cleanse my body and get all centered in!

I’m quite proud of myself for only losing concentration a few times due to the annoying lady to my left and not slapping her during meditation. Yoga really has taught me to keep a calm mind and approach life with composure.

Although the heat can be overwhelming at times, I promise it won’t kill you! The overwhelming feeling will pass and can actually bring about this amazing energy that you’ve never quite felt before, so embrace it. It can be scary, whether it’s your first time or not. Even a year later, the thought of stepping into a room that is over 100 degrees for 90 minutes is a bit unnerving but the payoff is most definitely worth it. Like most of these challenges, the journey might be hairy but the payoff is always impressive.

What’s the worst that could happen?? Improve your health. Feel rejuvenated. Become more flexible. The benefits really are invaluable

About hot yoga:

–         The room is heated to about 100 degree Fahrenheit
–         It may take you a few classes to truly acclimatize
–         Do not eat before classes
–         Come early to classes
–         Bring a yoga mat, beach sized towel & a smaller towel to wipe yourself down
–         Make sure you have plenty of water!!!
–         Be prepared to sweat like never before

Enjoy the sweat out of it!! xo mkr

Now quick, go face a fear! If nothing else, this 100 day cahllenge has made me much more vocal. Every time I want to give a stranger a compliment or confront someone, I do. There’s no more hesitation, instead just a lot more action. I’m sure some people think I’m a big weirdo but at the same time, I don’t really care and maybe I am just a big weirdo. For instance, today at hot yoga I told the gorgeous woman in front of me what beautiful posture she had and how much she helped my practise and form. Yes, perhaps she thinks I’m a creeper trying to hit on her but I know that’s not the case and maybe, just maybe I made her day.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Hot Yoga

  1. laine says:

    i would like to be her.

  2. […] New position in hot yoga – standing on your head is no simple task and to trust yourself not to break your own neck is a […]

Leave a Reply

